Plug electrode chews up piston, need advice

Mike70gtx

Here are some pictures of what happened when the alky wasn't spraying and burnt the electrode off of the spark plug off of number one. Number two lost a little piece and left a couple nicks on piston number two. Is this a good time to get some champion heads? Will This block have to be torn down to hone cylinder? Will it even hone? The cylinder feels smooth except for the top one inch.

Attachments

• head.JPG
    head.JPG
    49.5 KB · Views: 231
  • piston.JPG
    piston.JPG
    47.7 KB · Views: 227
  • piston1.JPG
    piston1.JPG
    48 KB · Views: 237
WOW! I'm no expert but I think you better pull the engine down. I doubt a hone will clean that up.:confused:

IMOP, if you got the money get some ported irons. also IMOP you will have to take the motor all the way down. its hard to see how bad it is in the pics. send the motor to a vendor in your area for a good build. just make sure you have someone that knows how to build these motors so you do it right the first time

You have to replace #1 piston so might as well run through it.

I would test fuel system before the rebuild motor is run hard. Looks to me like your fuel pump was falling short. If it was no alky that caused it., all the pistons would be beat up.

Just my o2.

Ya, check your turbo carefully. The last time I had an electrode come off (champion), it exited the cylinder (causing no damage there) but went through the turbine and took the turbo out!! :eek:

That piston look too damaged to have suffered from just the electrode. Part of the piston head appears to be missing/damaged.