Best ignition setup to run

buizila

GO TIBE !!!!!
Just testing the waters. What kindof ignition r u guys running in ur low 10sec high 9sec street driving TR. Just finishing up on the restoration and I've herd alot about the waste spark power loss. Don't really want to go to a distributor setup since I will be running A/C. RJC was talking about developing a mega coil that would eliminate the waste spark but that fell through (not enough demand). So what r we to do suck it up and run the 20+ year old technology on the type1 or type2 ignition systems? I would really appreciate some feedback on this since I am new at this. Go easy on me I a big block guy. My buildup is in my description at the bottom. Estimating to make around 700+hp. Thanx to all that reply

The only experience I've had with anything other than stock, has been bad... So I'm 'gonna say keep it simple and use the stock unit. :cool:

Electromotive. Strongest ignition power in the industry and the most stable ignition event timing. No need for separate ignition power booster boxes. I run pure alcohol up to 7800 rpm and it fires great. I also inject nitrous. Ignition missing is not a problem.

COP is Coil On Plug. Basically a molded cartridge with the coil and spark plug clip all together. Sometimes seen on the 4-bangers with dual overhead cams. The coil bulge up top with a neck to reach the plug. The cartridge fits down into the valve cover and reaches the plug.

CNP is what the LS1/LS2 motors use. Which is Coil Near Plug. In this case there is a coil per cylinder mounted near the associated spark plug. Longer dwell times are possible along with less energy loss from the short plug wires.

RemoveBeforeFlight

Electromotive. Strongest ignition power in the industry and the most stable ignition event timing. No need for separate ignition power booster boxes. I run pure alcohol up to 7800 rpm and it fires great. I also inject nitrous. Ignition missing is not a problem.