'61 Corvette Restomod w/2004R...transmision advice needed.

Stan's Customs

Wow 625 pages to search on transmissions alone...2 hours and I haven't made a final decision.

I've been building a '61 corvette for several years and am using a Buick Grand National 2004r..

(yep the real deal too) I've had the pan off and checked the valve body , governor and servo. It all matches the info I have that indicates it is a GN trans.

The car weighs 3000 lbs., the engine is a new carbureted GMPP ZZ4 , (350Cubic inches, 355 hp., 405 lbs. torque according to GM), peak torque around 5500 rpm, tires are 215/70/15 Michelins...rear is a Dana 44 with 3:33 gears....in a Corvette Correction C4 custom chassis.

The car is to be a "show driver".. parades, occasional romp around the Sonic and down the drag on Saturday night ..and perhaps some short 200/300 mile rod runs in Texas heat. (car has AC, electric windows, Be Kool radiator, Spal fan, etc.)

In short.. all around drivability is paramount....and next, just a FUN driving experience, along with absolutely the best that can be done for reliability.

You guys have the most knowledge regarding these transmissions of anywhere on the internet....so I thought I would see if I could get some opinions regarding how you would set up the transmission for this car. I may not need much of a stall converter for this kind of driving? I can't make up my mind regarding a lockup or non lockup converter? ..or the easiest way to wire it, if a lockup is the answer?.

One of our local transmission guys thinks a lockup 12" converter with the lowest stall available would best...with a simple switch to lock it up in 4th. Keep it simple is his thoughts...and I can't say that I disagree, but all the reading I've done here has me doubting what to do ....there's a lot of ways to skin this cat.