Anyone thought about a MG Convertible hybrid?

81LimitedT

I have recently sold my 81 Limited & know of a friend who bought a ?70's MG Convertible.
She has kinda tired of it, isn't interested in restoring or keeping it and looking to sell it since summer.
Anyone think they wanna tackle a MG to 3.8 conversion? Just a thought- I have enough DD/ project work and no money or storage......
- Mike

If its a MGB a swap is not too bad!!!!!! But a MG midget is slightly crampted, engine compartment wise. I have a Buick v6 powered midget, but it has a tube frame chassis, coil over suspension, narrowed 8" ford rear, auburn pro lsd, 400 whp, 274" carbed engine. Weighs 1500 lbs. plus driver, and goes quite well. Its an autocross/hillclimb car.
I'm in the process of building a 1700 lb. Miata with a turbo buick v6. Should be some what quicker, I hope, I have no experience with turbos, but I expect this site will be giving me a lot of help, I'm going to need it !!!

Rex

If its a MGB a swap is not too bad!!!!!! But a MG midget is slightly crampted, engine compartment wise. I have a Buick v6 powered midget, but it has a tube frame chassis, coil over suspension, narrowed 8" ford rear, auburn pro lsd, 400 whp, 274" carbed engine. Weighs 1500 lbs. plus driver, and goes quite well. Its an autocross/hillclimb car.
I'm in the process of building a 1700 lb. Miata with a turbo buick v6. Should be some what quicker, I hope, I have no experience with turbos, but I expect this site will be giving me a lot of help, I'm going to need it !!!

Rex

Geezus, you running a 274 stage 2?

Stage 2 block and internals,ported stock 4.1 heads, the stage 2 heads were too bulky, And with the stage 2 intake made the 4barrel too high. I didn't, want to run a hood scoop, I wanted for it to look some what stock,except for the flared fenders and roll bar.

Rex

13 to 1 compression, I'll put up some pictures as soon as I can get my grand daughter to show me how!!!