trying to understand why tb cam specs so different from other non na engines

gunzandgearz

gearzandgunz
ok guys looking for some help here from some of engine gurus on this site. im kind of new to the turbo buick stuff although not new to engine building ive built quite a few engines in my career mostly chevy small and big block stuff and some ls stuff. I haven't gotten a chance fo flow a set of stock cylinder heads yet,but im assuming that they are like any other engine out there where the exhaust side needs help evacuating the combustion chamber. usually any time I build an non na engine I will run the exhaust side with a bit more duration to help evacuate the charge since the problem is not getting the air fuel in its getting it out. so to my question,why are the cams everyone is making for these cars all single pattern cams, ive even seen some patterns with more duration on intake side, scratching my head on this one. any way just wondering if someone could shed some light on this subject for me please,maybe its just because I haven't had a chance to flow heads yet and exhaust flows like gangbusters.

Many of the full throttle speed cams are reverse split with extra exhaust duration. I believe the idea there is to put a little extra *pop* into the exhaust to help drive the larger turbine wheels that are available these days.

Since you are new to the turbo world, there are many things you will find different about our turbo cars, and the cam is only one small part of the overall performance build.

Yes, with a SMB Chevy, a replacement cam is among the first performance mods, but it is way down the list in our turbo world.

With some rather simple bolt-on mods the stock cam will easily put a GN into the 10's.

The point is we do not need a radical cam to develop power in most cases, but is ALL cases the overall build MUST have the proper combination of engine and bolt-on parts for a desired performance level and budget.