so, yesterday, i bought a rare twin turbo Regal T Type. need suggestions.

Mike Diaz

Enlarged member
This is going to be a long post. I'll try to get to the point. I'm a noob here, but I've been in the car business since I was 15 (34 now). Yesterday I bought the Gale Banks/ Kenne Bell/ Doug Roe twin turbo Regal T Type that had the super awesome star trek mural on the trunk. And no, I didn't pay $200k for it.

Unfortunately, the guy who originally built the car fell on hard times and the car sat for 6 years. In that time, the car was broken into, the paint fell apart (literally), and the engine looks like it needs to come out and restored. And it will. It still runs, amazingly well actually. I only ran it for about 10 seconds after changing the oil and priming the oil pump. I don't plan on running it any more until I go through it and make sure it's OK to run. The install wasn't bad, but it could be better.

I know the engine is controversial, I've been reading through past discussions on whether or not it was the father engine for the Grand National. That's only half of the point, the engine definitely has history and it's on an unstamped block. It was built by world class builders for power and reliability. It still has the Rossi TH350 transmission, which is a plus.

I need some suggestions. I want to do what is right for the history of the car and the engine. The car itself is ultra molested, and going to be extremely hard to take it back to stock. I'm thinking about either taking the exterior of the car back to a stock look or finding a completely different car to start with. I did spend quite a bit of money for the car, so buying a top notch shell is going to be tough right now, but not out of the question. I have my own shop, so getting the work done isn't a problem.

I'd appreciate any suggestions on what to do with the car/engine/transmission. My decision will be heavily influenced by the community suggestions.