Noob here, what oil should I use?

86regalttype

i just had the head gaskets replaced due to one blowing exhaust out the passenger side, now I need to know what type of oil to use? I have a 1986 TType with a 3.8 SFI Turbo.

not being a smart ass did you do a search ? This will open a can of worms . On my rebuilt buick engines I run rotella for about 5k miles ... and run rotella in my diesel .. everything else gets Royal purple an wix filters ... just my 2 cents

oh it still wouldn't hurt to add the zddp zink additive, but ive never used it before

You are going to get many answers but the general consensus is add ZDDP to whatever oil you use unless it already has ZDDP in it. The search function will bring up many threads with this as a discussion also.

I use Valvoline Vr1 and wix filters, never an issue..and add zddp every other oil change.. but I change oil every 800 miles cause im nuts

MY 8.1 ONLY RAN for 309k before I sold it . never used any oil ! secret service told me not to tell what oil I used ... 02 8.1 2500 crew cab

I use one quart of castrol 10w30, one quart of rotella 15w40, two quarts of valvoline 20w50 vr1, and one quart of lucas oil treatment.

That way I'm covered and have at least one quart of the most recommended oil in there. Royal purple is for pussy cats so stay away from that over hyped, over priced crap.

I change my oil every month or 500 miles whichever comes first, so don't ask me any oil questions as all I can say is that I'm good at pissing money away needlessly but I will add that my motor is cleaner inside than it is on the outside.

All kidding aside let the oil comparison debate continue to infinity and beyond!!!!!

I use Rotella-T and a Wix racing filter. I never put an additive in it. I change the oil 3 times a season. Once for spring start, once in mid/early summer, and again for the fall. The fall oil sits in the motor all winter 'till spring.