Lost firm shifting after tranny flush and fill

mmarlett

Need help from the experts. I have reviewed many postings concerning tranmission fluid and still remain unclear on how to proceed.

My situation concerns a stock 87 GN with 29,000 miles. I did purchase this vehicle this summer, and since I did not have the service history, I did have the transmission flushed and filled at a Vavoline station. However, prior to this service the GN would "chirp" the tires under hard excelleration between 1st and 2nd. Now, it does not seem to slip bit is a very smooth shift. I want may firm first- second shift back! I imagine the fluid from Valvoline is formulated for smooth shifting.

What can I do to recitify this? What fluid for a street GN used 2,000 miles annually? .

Thanks!
Matt

I am far from an expert but my TTA starting acting the same way after 30,000 miles. When your internals (clutches...) sit in the trans fluid for 20 years then you start adding HP or holding it to the floor at WOT to get that chirp between gears the trans will get soft. I would bet you are do for a rebuild.

If they use the newer Dexron it has better friction modifiers and will cause smoother shifting(those bastards). Best bet is to call and ask them which Dex they use.

The available dexron will not by itself cause a smooth shifting problem by itself. I have it in my car and it is at least 600whp and shifts like a champ. Ratio changes in under .1 sec under power. Sounds more like the band/drum needs resurfacing/replacment. The stock pickup/filter design is not adequate for high G force launcehes and could cavitate the pump circuit under hard acceleration.

Some Info on Dexron VI.
The following chart represents the improvements over Dexron III.
Extended Fill Range = 100,000 miles Normal Use.
Change Interval = 50,000 miles Severe Use.
Clutch Friction Stability = Improved 100%
Clutch Durability = Improved 120%
Oil Film = Increased 20%
Fluid Oxidation = Improved 100%
Shear Stability = Improved 200%