What would I be getting into?

Dialtone76

Living the Dream
Hello All!

I wanted to say I really enjoy the site. Everyone seems VERY friendly, and there doesn't seem to be a shortage of people joining conversations, so I hope nobody minds if I just fire off some questions for some opinions.

I am not an owner yet, but I am exploring the possibility. Been a big fan of the cars since I was young, and now that I have found the fountain of, uhm, middle age, I have the resources for one. That being said, it is not my nature to do anything impulsive, and right now I am just monitoring the market so see whats out there and how often. I also want to make sure I am not blinded by the romantic vision I have from my youth and go into this well prepared for what lies ahead. I plan to spend the rest of the year, gathering intel before making any purchases, even if someone offers me 'cant say no deal'.

First a little about me, my profession is in IT, so I have a very analytical mind, and I can usually figure things out when they aren't working. I am no gear head. At one point I was mechanical. My first two cars (78 Ford LT and 83 Pontiac Grand Prix) were absolute POS's. Armed with a toolbox and a Chilton's manual I was able to keep my car running so I could get to work and keep the paychecks coming. (Amazing what you can do when you are desperate hehe). I have swapped plugs, wires, alternators, water pump, thermostats, engine fan, radiator, hoses and belts (not timing). I won't dare say I did them cleanly, efficiently, or that anyone would mistake my work for a professional's, but I was successful. That all works into part of the allure of the desire for a TR. I always wanted to work on a car when I didn't have to depend on it for transportation (or freeze my arse off in the winter). One of my biggest handicaps is going to be that i live in a Condo building. We have underground climate controlled parking/ vehicle storage, however I don't have a garage that I can just rent a hois