Venting Frustation!...take a look

fast400

Just have to vent for a moment! I've been working on doing a 'simple' rebuild for over 3 months now, not because I'm slow, but it appears any defective parts available get sent to me. First I noticed the cam bearing surface 'Durabond" was delaminating on one of the cam bearings...no problem, simply replace....wait 2 weeks for new bearings. Next I measure the brand new K1 rods prior to install and notice 0.002" variance in large end.....wait another month, get new rods, which are of course slightly heavier....sooo back to the machine shop to have the new rod weights matched to the already balanced rotating assembly....another week goes by. Today I start assembling the mains, pull the King Bearing out of their package, only to notice a defective main bearing.....ARGHHHH!!!!! What happened to quality control?? Are we that miserable?? No wonder people buy German engineering...at least it's accurate.
Check out the pics!
If you ever have a problem with King Bearings....don't bother calling them, their customer service sucks. They weren't even concerned. They simply told me to contact the vendor I purchased them through.

Attachments

• DSC07363.JPG
    DSC07363.JPG
    1.9 MB · Views: 286
  • DSC07347.JPG
    DSC07347.JPG
    2 MB · Views: 260
I feel your pain. As the manufacturing base in the US erodes away, we can only expect more of the poor quality that you have run into. :mad:

Is that what I have to look forward to?!
Quick! china needs more of our stimulus money!