stage I cracking ? where?

norbs

Classic fast, XFI, SPortsman & MS3 programming
Does anyone havea pic where stage I;s usually crack? Anyway to prevent it from happening. I'm thinking maybe a way to reenforce the area?

I am no expert, but I have never heard of an issue with stage 1 blocks cracking.

I dont know of a fix,But i know they have been known to crack from freeze plug to freeze plug

Make sure you pin the freeze out plugs. When it cracks it will cause the plugs to release. I would add Hard Block and fill it up to the mid point between the plugs. That might help to stabilize the block. It is important to have the area being filled level. Do the hard block before the machine work.
Jeff

A bit too late for that Jeff, its almost ready to go in the car. I guess if it cracks i may have to go to a alum block one day. Your running the SI heads or the SE heads on that combo of yours? 76gts, that must need some big converter?

A bit too late for that Jeff, its almost ready to go in the car. I guess if it cracks i may have to go to a alum block one day. Your running the SI heads or the SE heads on that combo of yours? 76gts, that must need some big converter?

Please consider pinning the freeze out plugs. I lost mine doing 130 and the water got under the rear tire.
Jeff

Norbs,

3.8 liter Stage I and II blocks like to crack between the freeze plugs. Typically this will happen on the passenger side first. I experienced the same thing as Jeff, I had one come out of my block while doing some test and tune on a remote stretch of road. Pinning the freeze plugs is advisable or you could epoxy them in too. BTW, Jeff's block cracked at a much lower H.P. level than he is at currently mine did too.

Neal

Norbs