Powermaster Problems (Please Help)

wnbracey

I have a 1987 GN with powermaster problems. I intend to purchase the remanufactured system from AutoZone. Does anyone know the AutoZone part number for the remanufactured unit. I called my local AutoZone and they told me that the part was $700.00. Also, does anyone have directions for completing the install of the remanufactured powermaster unit?

Thanks for you help,

Nelson Bracey
Wnbracey@bigfoot.com

Hey nelson, before you go spending $700 check this out.

http://www.members.tripod.com/Turbocars/pm.html

I am in the process of just replacing this part to complete my big brake upgrade. This is way more up everyones alley in pricing.

I am about to get one but have not called due to the production problem, does not sound good right now.

hope that helps

What's Wrong?

What is wrong with the power master?

What is it doing.

You might just need a new switch $18 bucks?

Or an Accumulator Ball for under $100 Bucks?

Or a Fuse for .25 !

Did you go this route already?

$700 is an expensive lesson to learn when it could just cost as little as .25 .

Just trying to help out.

Re: What's Wrong?

what switch for $18 you are talking about

Originally posted by REAL-DEAL GN
What is wrong with the power master?

What is it doing.

You might just need a new switch $18 bucks?

Or an Accumulator Ball for under $100 Bucks?

Or a Fuse for .25 !

Did you go this route already?

$700 is an expensive lesson to learn when it could just cost as little as .25 .

Just trying to help out.

Powermaster Problems continued...

Thanks for all of the responses. I had the powermaster unit rebuilt by a GM dealer approximately 4 years ago. The motor runs continuously and it does not sound very strong as it once did. The brakes will hardly stop the vehicle.

Thanks,

Nelson