Oil pressure pump or gauge sender?

carryon525

The motor only has around 8000 since rebuild in 2006. I have a red digital glowshift oil pressure gauge. Lately my oil pressure is ZERO on the gauge but does come up when I "kinda" get on it? As the motor heats up I notice the numbers get low even at 0 at a stop light?? Today I drove it to work and at 45-60 gauge showed under 12! Is there a high chance my oil pump is going bad or tis the sending unit possibly bad or going bad? They only cost $12.99 for a new part.
A few notes the car seems to run fine cruising and light boost but at higher boost I've been chasing a knock/light pinging for a few months now? Could/if the oil pump is going bad could I have found the reason knock has started to occur because lack of lubrication on critical parts? If the consensus is bad oil pump what should I get and where? Is there a direct replacement that might give me a hair more performance or is a stock pump ok? A side note is I do also have the RJC biggy adapter PLEASE HELP! My old GN I sold in 2010 never gave me any issues and I actually raced with it but I knew that car well this one my stepdad has had for years and now I'm trying to get it RIGHT!

hook a mechanical gauge on it and test if it really is that low. you need 10 minimum for hot idle (under 1000rpm) and 10 for each additional 1000 rpm (ex 30psi for 3000 rpm) Report back.

Treed by Darthbuick!

hook a mechanical gauge on it and test if it really is that low. you need 10 minimum for hot idle (under 1000rpm) and 10 for each additional 1000 rpm (ex 30psi for 3000 rpm) Report back.

Treed by Darthbuick!
That's what I was getting not long ago 10psi for every 1000rpm. Today cruising at 55 I was not seeing anything?

You're a lot braver than me! If I ever saw 0 oil pressure I would shut the motor off and have it towed home. BTW, remind me to never buy a used car from you!