Hvac or electrician

nu2gn

fasteddie
Ok i have been thinking of going back to school. Working for benz has been getting more aggravating. And dealer politics are not helping either. I have been doing this for ten years. But i want to know if it worth going into hvac or electrician's field. I don't know starting salaries for either fields. But at least i can do work in the side to make extra cash. Can someone that works on these fields please chime in? I can get a job at another benz dealer but i will be the new guy and will probably get crapped on for the first couple of years

Being in Chicago you should check with a couple of locals that are in either field. The unions a strong in Chicago which could either hurt or help you depending on how many electricians are out of work up there. Here in St Louis I have heard there are 10,000 out of work, sitting on the books waiting to be called back. Anyone that losses their job right now will likely be sitting on the books for over 5 years before a callout. Most are being told to find other employment. I am a low voltage technician and make over scale even though I am not union. I havent missed a single days work in the 6 years since leaving the union after sitting on the books for 5 months. I am not rich by any means but 75k isnt too bad in this area .Good luck

Bryan

In the end, i wound up as refridgeration and hvac. Wish i would had gone electrician. My field seems to change all the time and cant stick with one thing. controls are in, then a year later there out. Boss seems to buy something different all the time and not making it any easier

In Chicago the pipefitters are about all thats busy. Most electricians I know of are still out of work, the pipefitters (LU 597) are actually taking people.

In Chicago the pipefitters are about all thats busy. Most electricians I know of are still out of work, the pipefitters (LU 597) are actually taking people.