Help choosing a turbo. Thinking about a 6262

corey331

TR noob
I am still learning a lot about these car and am puting together a new combo. I had a TE60 on a stock motor with alky and 42# injectors, 3"DP, LS1 MAF. I currently have the motor out of the car for a freshening of the short block and am sending the heads and intake out to be ported. I am moving up to 60# injectors and am also going to put a nice converter in it(depending on turbo selection). My goal for the car is low 11's to high 10's. Would a billet 6262 get me there or do I need to look bigger? Again, I am new to the Turbo Buick game, just getting my 87 GN a few months ago, but its not as fast as the mustang I got rid of to get it, and I want to remedy that!! Thanks for any help!!!

Corey

The 6262 should get you to the high 10's but you may have boost control issue with it and need to switch to an external waste:eek:gate.

The 6262 should get you to the high 10's but you may have boost control issue with it and need to switch to an external wastegate. :eek:

Billet 6262

I was on the same path you were headed. I believe you are headed down the right one as far as the turbo selection and the times you are looking for. The Billet 6262 could get you there IMHO. If you want a 25 mile used Billet 6262s give me a call. 415-902-0829. I have one for sale $750 Shipped. It's posted in the For Sale section w/pics as well. Only reason for selling is my entire combo changed.
As far as controlling the boost, the wastegate hole will need to be ported. With the purchase of mine :p you can already see how much material needs to be removed to control the boost with an internal wastegate.

Good Luck!!

The 6262 should get you to the high 10's but you may have boost control issue with it and need to switch to an external waste:eek:gate.

Maybe....maybe not. I had no issues controlling boost once I ported the wastegate hole with my 6262. :wink: