Drunk Driving

mjdwyer23

Woosh WaGoN
Hey Guys-
I'm a freshman at Lehigh finishing up my first semester. Throughout the year I've been talking to a lot of people and I was really surprised as to how many people have driven drunk. Most of the people I know say they've done it at least once and that it's "fun." Now I don't know what kind of values these people have, but I value my life and the lives of everyone else on the road way too much to even think about drunk driving. How many people on the board have driven drunk before? Just wondering...

Lost too many close people to even think about it :(

I hardly ever drink, period.
Out in the sparsely populated areas, it is not uncommon. Public transportation doesnt exist out this far, and if you drive to the bar, you drive home. People can't tell just how drunk they are, and think they are fine.
Where I went to college, some of the bars will take your keys before they let you in. Then you have to get them back to go home. If you arent up to it, they keep your keys. Good idea in theory, but Joe Schmo bouncer might easily mix up the keys. ("oh yeah, I was the one with the Porsche! Man dont you remember?)
They have also installed many cameras outside the bars downtown, and put plenty of officers out on the weekends.

Unfortunately, sometimes it takes losing someone close because of an accident, or spending time behind bars to wake these people up.

There may have been a time or two in collage that I shouldn't have driven. There were many nights I walked home from the bar and rode my bike the next day to get my car. I don't see how anyone could consider driving drunk fun. I hope that when they are having fun that they hit a wall instead of an innocent person.

my grand mother was killed, and both me and my brother were put in the hospital because a drunk driver. it happened before all the drunk driving laws were put in place, so the guy got away with murder, its sickening.