What could the problem be?

87GNattyKid

Hey guys, i just bought a turbo t and when i took it out today it did something strange. Every now and then when i hit the gas hard or do a burnout theres a loud popping noise (like a shotgun), it almost sound like the thing is backfireing...im not a master mechanic so im not really sure what this could be...any help would be greatly appreciated. Other than this, the car doesnt seem to have any mechanical issues...it runs great, idles strong, hasnt stalled, even after the loud sound. The car has a larger intercooler and a 3 inch down pipe but other than that its pretty much stock...Thanks in advanced!

-Joe

found the mods list from the sale section...here's what its got:

stock trans and converter
stock turbo
oil filter relocation kit
3 core aluminum rad
3inch downpipe
2.5 cat back
19 row intercooler
42.5 green top inj and commander chip
ls1 mass air meter
210-215 non roller cam
new timing chain
lt1 springs
rear mounted battery

Check to make sure that your IC hoses are all secure, check for any vacuum leaks, and also check to make sure that your plug wires are on correctly. You might also want to check the condition/gap on the plugs. Is there a check engine light?

Also, aren't those injectors a tad too big for a stock setup?

im probably gunna have to bring it to a shop as im not familiar with these cars and dont want to get in too deep with something that could be a major problem...anyone know of any GN performance shops near long island?