What are the best street tires for GNs

Big Kahuna

I'm new to this game -- so please bear with me.

I just bought a 34K mile 86 T-Top from a guy by the name of EJ Howe in Conroe, Texas. Someone by the name of Puddin did some tweaking (see the Drag race forum -- maybe you can help me there too) and the car shift hard from first to second.

http://www.thecybermuseum.com/86grandnational.htm

It came with some no-name tires and the car gets out of shape on the first to second shift when getting on it on a dry road -- and is down right dangerous to drive even easy in the rain.

I have some Centerlines with MT Street ETs on it right now because I took it to the track last night (disappointed!)

gn3404s.jpg

I need to get some decent street tires for the car. I'l most likely not put 5,000 miles a year on the car - but I want to be ready to make Mustangs sick if required. I'll use the Street ETs when I visit the track (my brother has an 87 so there will be some grudge racing).

So what are the best tires (make, model and size) that y'all have found work on the rear of these cars?

Thanx for the help.

BK

gn3404k.jpg

B.F Goodwrench Drag Radial 275/50 R15
By the way tell me you beat the mustang you were racing in the picture.
:D

Street tires wise you will have problems in the rain with most of them. I run nittos drag radials 275/60/r15 and love them. They have pulled a 1.73 60 ft and are great in the rain so far. The major downside is how fast the tread has worn, but i have been to the track 5 times on them averaging 4 runs per night with big burnouts.

street tires

I,too am interested a a good set of street tires--I don't race the car. On an earlier post someone mentioned Futura tires at Pep Boys did a decent job for a daily driven street car. Tommy

The street ETs will work for now to drive the 80 miles to the track, run the car, and drive back -- and I'll consider the Nitto and new MTs when it comes time to replace them.