Weightlifting - Getting in Shape

JadeMonkeyStang

TRs on the Brain
In search of faster 1/4 mile times both in and out of the GN, I'm looking to undertake a serious weightlifting/training/fitness program. I know that many of you have experience in this area and I've read some older threads on the topic. Being that I'm a relative beginner (lifted before but never been taught to do it the right way) and I want to learn to train properly and effectively I was hoping that someone had suggestions for books/magazines/websites that I could check out to get me started right. Any suggestions or advice would be much appreciated. Thanks.

-Jade

I usually do chest and tries one day, skip a day then back and bis, skip a day and then nothing but shoulders. Work in legs, abs, and cardio as you can. Eat a good diet with plenty of protein, and get plenty of rest. :)

Just doing something VS nothing is 90% of it. I have done my same routine (flys, curls, benching -3 sets x 10 reps) for over 15 years now. It helps my looks by offsetting the beer belly and gives me the strenght to do all my heavy auto stuff. If not for sleep problems, Id like to do it more seriously.
Its also funny to beat a youngster at arm wrestling. Always under estimated.

Just get the "Body for Life" book by Bill Phillips. It is all you need and will do you more good than spending money on a personal trainer. It's easy reading and concentrates not only on the physical aspect but mental as well. :)

For the love of pete, stay as far away from anything Bill Phillips has to do with. Your diet is absolutly the most important part of a lifestyle change. Do not undersestimate it. Steer clear of routines in any bodbuilding magazine, as they are not for the Genetically Typical Trainee. Decide exactly what you want to accomplish, and achive it. a good place to start is here:
www.gotswole.com