TurboBob, got a minute?

rabidcoyote97

In a recent thread I posted on the Tech page, your name was mentioned as the guru behind the Translator Plus unit. It was also suggested in that thread that you would be the man most able to definitively answer a question in regard to dip settings on said unit.

The main issue lies with the use/non-use of Dip switch #3 in my 1987 GN. I am currently running 50 lb PTE injectors with a PTE chip, equipped with the T-Plus unit and 3"MAF. Here's the dilemma; most say that because I do not have an Extender Extreme chip, I should have the switch in the OFF position. Others suggest that keeping the switch in the ON position essentially controls the limiter, as it pertains to MAF values read by the ECM.

If my terminology is incorrect, I apologize. I am new to the TB community, and am only beginning to learn the basics of the power 6. Any assistance you might be able to provide would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

I'm not Bob but I have a translator and have asked Bob about this in the past. Switch 3, the limiter, should be on for any non-extender chip. This hardware limits the maximum frequency the maf will send to the ecm and prevents maf dropouts. This alone made a translator and lt1 maf worth it to me even though I had access to a replacement good stock maf when mine died. Yes, chipmakers can lock the maf to 255 at wot but this is cleaner and foolproof.

Thanks for the reply Carl. I'm new to the TB community and am working on resolving a tip in stumble issue my car is having. In attempting to try and tune the tip in out of the car, I have tried quite a few settings on the T Plus. Although I currently have that Dip switch in the ON position, the throttle response doesn't seem as crisp as it does when its in the OFF position. Of course, if I'm going to tune the car properly and maximize the value of the T Plus unit, I figured I'd talk to Bob and get the "the rest of the story".