tuning e85

413turbo

Anyone want to share what is working for them with e85?

i'm running stock block
6765 turbo
powerstroke intercooler
65# injectors

WOT at 20#boost i've tried everything from 8.5:1 - 7.2:1 (e85 scale) and timing from 20-24*, with no difference.
MPH is always the same, plugs look like i could add alittle more timing.

then at idle, i've tried from 10.2-9.2 (e85 scale) and timing is around 24-28*

one thing is: for off idle timing i keep hearing of 36-44*, but have always seen total off idle timing at 32* for most cars.

i'm about to moniter EGT, in stock o2 location also. i feel good about playing around with it. some changes have made it feel better, but the numbers are always the same. i guess once i get it figured out where it should be both down low and at WOT, i can blend it and keep going from there. but i'm new to this and dumb as a box of rocks. I just wish i could get some help, and someone tell me what to try for a tuning strategy.

i did good with the TTchip, just kept going until i saw kr, then backed it down and car was fast and never knocked.i was told my rods will jump out and say hello before it knocks on straight e85.

my guess is a/f and then timing, but nothing seems to make a difference. if i need to go farther, then in which direction, and at what point is the edge approaching?

stock heads?

you will be out of injector soon

what are you using for a stoich ratio for E85? I tune using the gasoline scale, so I need to convert...

Bob

it's staying ~80% duty cycle at 20#'s. so, i'm looking to optimize here and add more boost later.

stock heads, new valve springs

i'm in the process of upgrading the fuel system, and putting in 120's.

9.765 is stioch for me, i prefer lambda, but i know most people are on one scale or the other.

considering you are still within the range of the injectors, I think you need more boost....

Then you will need more injector..

Bob