Losing Power at WOT - No Codes

VADR

Hi all,

Got an issue that creeped up just recently on my GN that's making me scratch my head a bit. 3rd gear WOT it will feel either like the trans is slipping or the engine is trying to cut out. RPM's bounce so I'm assuming it's the trans that's slipping, plus there's no codes. It happened one time this summer when I had the emissions/pump gas chip in, but I also had to pull out of the pedal as I noticed the timing was being pulled back (crap Colorado gas). So at that time I assumed it was a fluke. The slipping/cutting out (whatever it is) is much worse on E85 with the extra power and I can duplicate it every time now (bonus is zero timing is pulled with E85 and it runs smooth as silk otherwise).

I have the Scanmaster, full set of gauges including fuel pressure. Never drops pressure, nothing unusual that I can see anywhere other than the bouncing RPM's. I'm no expert with the Scanmaster so feel free to school me there.

When I bought the car several years ago I was told it was a built trans with a PTC 2800 converter, no idea who actually built the trans. It's always shifted great. I've also had a previous issue with the engine cutting out when I ran at Bandimere a few years ago, but it did trigger a code immediately and it was a simple throttle body adjustment that fixed the problem. Car has been a restoration project over the last several years so I haven't put a lot of miles on it in the 3+ years I've owned it.

Looking for any insight or ideas of what to start checking. Still trying to learn this car and the quirks, but without a trouble code to point me in a direction I'm a bit lost.

Thanks in advance!

On edit: crap not sure how my signature got deleted. Here's the car info:
87 GN, 60# Deka injectors, Precision 5931 turbo, PTC 2800 converter, E85

Valve springs gone soft?