totally stock 87gn with ta-49 boosting slow

buickshake87

I have just installed a TA-49 turbo on a totally stock 87 grand national. It boost's much different than when the stock one was on. I'm not sure why or if this is a normal thing but I felt like I had a much stronger boost with my factory turbo. Can't get the new turbo over 11 or 12 lbs of boost standing on the floorboard... any help would be awesome, thanks homies...hahaah

First thing to do is double check for exhaust leaks and vacuum leaks, and make sure you reconnected the vacuum lines correctly.

Is the puck lined up on the turbo? maybe the accuator lines are backwards?the y is smaller on one side.

I believe the lines are on correctly and this came off another buick that only used it for about 5k miles. I will check Y vacuum lines. Just wondering what holds back boost cause seems like the turbo is harder to get spooled than other 1 and stops at 12. Like its governed by something. I'm completely new to turbos might I add.

I believe the lines are on correctly and this came off another buick that only used it for about 5k miles. I will check Y vacuum lines. Just wondering what holds back boost cause seems like the turbo is harder to get spooled than other 1 and stops at 12. Like its governed by something. I'm completely new to turbos might I add.

Did your 49 come with its own wategate actuator or did you use the old one off of the stock turbo??

BTW: 12 psi is the stock boost level for these cars, with a non adjustable wastegate, etc..

Slow Spoolin TA-49

What exhaust housing do you have....Garrett or Precision?

Reason I'm asking is that the Garrett .63 Exh Hsg will spool much more quickly with a stock D-5 Convertor than the Precision.

You may find that you'll need to change over your convertor to one with a higher stall....say mabye a 10" - 2800 stall to spool the Precision quickly.