Tools Question:

Tom R

87FastBlack
I've owned my car for just over three months now and with the help of TurboBuRick and my own driving, I'm getting used to the car and some of the things required by TR owners. I am not a mechanic, never have been but owning these cars can get really expensive if one cares to ensure they operate well at all times and can't do some of the work ourselves. So my question is this...Now that I've learned a bit and will continue to do so, I guess I'll need more tools than I current have at my disposal if I'm do do any real hands on. If I were interested in doing the tuning, oil changes, minor oil leak repairs etc...what tools would most of you suggest I purchase as a good starter kit? Mig welders and engine hoists are out of the question as well as installing a life in my garage.:p

Just got to Sears and get a nice mechanics tool set. Good sockets, ratchets, wrenchs (including flare), and a decent jack and some jackstands. All the basics as well, screwdrivers, adj. wrenches, etc. And AT LEAST two magnets, cause when you drop those bolts on the intake, you'll need one.

I do most of my own work with hand tools. A good torque wrench would help too.

Ive been buying tools for a while, so I have a nice toolchest and box. Its not much but it works for me. Anything major I need done, I have access to a lift and alot more tools.

Doesnt have to happen overnight either.

As for the car, I keep a 50-peice kit in the trunk with me. Comes in handy, but Ive never had a major problem. I also have a little plastic toolbox I keep my basic track tools in, allen and wrench to adjust the FPR, pliers for the wastegate rod, air gauge, etc. And a pair of gloves and a pack of zipties.

I agree, and also a fuel pressure gauge with a long hose to put under the wiper for tuning, a good boost gauge and most of all PATIENCE!