Thinking about jointing the military, and one with insight?

V8KILLR

2speed 1day fast & faster
Ok, as some of you know, I got my BS degree this December in mechanical engineering. As some of you may also know, I got laid off of my first full time engineering position and have been having a hell of a time finding another job. I have always thought of going OCS in the Navy or maybe Air Force. I like the Navy a little more because of having pride due to my dad being in, back in the 60s. I’d like to have any insight. I know the benefits are great and the pay is so so, but other then that I don’t know much. One thing to add, I am an Eagle Scout. I know it may be cheesy, but I’ve heard that it does matter. Last thing, sorry for being all over the place, I would like to go to grad school and having it paid for by the US gov, may work out.

Thanks,

Jason

Military

Go for it! I was in the Navy for 11 years, and while it's true that you won't get rich ($ wise) in the service, you can bet you'll never regret the experience. By the time I was 28 years old, I had been to the following countries in my travels:

Africa (1 week)
Australia (3x, 6 weeks total)
Phillipine Islands (9x, too many weeks to count)
Indonesia (1 week)
Thailand (1 week)
Korea (1 week)
Singapore (4x, 4.5 weeks)
Bahrain (6x, 2 weeks)
Mina Jebel Ali (2x, 2 weeks)
Midway Island (3 days)
Canada (2x, 2 weeks total)

Lived in Hawaii for 7 years courtesy of Uncle Sam....in fact, that's where I got the Turbo Regal bug! Been all over the U.S., too.

You can have your grad school paid for by the service, but be aware that you'll often have a 2-to-1 trade off; that is, for every year of school paid for, you'll owe the service 2 years of time. Of course, this may have changed over the years....