Stock 87 GN, Money to spend, little time.

C.P.

GBody fan
I have the chance to spend someone else's money to make their GN fast. I have a month to work with, and he wants to go faster than my 87, which does 13.2 on street tires.

My original plan:

Turbo tweak chip and 42lb. injectors
3" downpipe
Cone style air filter
Some kind of free-flowing exhaust
Fuel pump and hotwire kit
Adjustable regulator
Adjustable actuator

I also planned on a Scanmaster, boost and knock gauges.

I have limited experience with turbo Buicks, (had 2) so thats about as creative as I could get. If budget were not a problem, but time was limited, what should I do? Also keep in mind shipping times..... Does any supplier keep EVERYTHING I would need in stock? Next day shipping?

from the looks of your recipe im sure those more in the know than i will tell you why stop at 13.2? with the right tune (and driving) he should be able to break into the12s.

I would not get 42 injectors. Get 50's or 60's and be done once. Your plan looks good so far but if you really want to make a difference on a budget, add an alky kit to list and turn the boost up!

TT chip, gutted cat converter, 160 thermostat, 42-60# inj(leave room for growth), Alky inj.=12's all day long.

What does the car have for mods now? No mention of sticky tires. Might want to invest in some drag radials.

Although there are a lot of other people here with MUCH more knowledge than myself, I would figure the list in my sig with some sticky tires would give your friend what he is looking for. Here's a list off the top of my head...

Chip & Injectors (60#) Combo $390.00 TurboTweak - Turbo Buick Custom Chips and Parts
PowerLogger Scan Tool $264.99 FULL THROTTLE SPEED - Turbo Buick Power Logger Scan Tool
Scanmaster 2.1 Scan Tool $280.00 1986 1987 Buick Regal Grand National Turbo T T-Type GNX SCANMASTER 2 DIAGNOSTIC TOOL #6783