Running 180 instead of 160 t-stat.

usetaboost

SAY CAR RAMROD!!
I'm sure it's been brought up a gazillion times. Is a 160 stat really the best way to go? To me it would make more sense to run a 180 especially with alky injection. THoughts? Questions? Concerns?

LOWER TEMP /COOLER CHARGE .. I RUN A 160 . BUT AFTER A FEW WOT BLASTS IM AT 200 REGARDLESS.

I used to run a 160, now I run a 180. Dont see a difference other than opening temp. between the two. 160 is too cold in my opinion.

I would think with running a 180 the car would get better mileage and possibly make more power. I would think the intercooler would have more of an effect than a lower engine temp. I mean really, there's a fire going on inside so what's it matter if it runs a warmer temp that's still considered low even by todays standards.

Living in the south I've always ran a 160...but like what Riff Raff says after getting in it my temp jumps 195-200 range.

I have been running 180 degree t-stats for 15 years. I believe there is no down-side to the hotter running engine. The coolant temp has little to do with charge-air temps especially since we all have the pre-heat plumbing removed from our throttle bodies.

Yep, the old wifes tale is becomming internet lore, run a 160 stat, you'll make more power! BULLSHIT:rolleyes: Run a 180

I was running a 160 T - stat for years......finally switched over to a 180 T-Stat to help with the engine running too cool.
Picked up a 170 T-stat for a small block chevy and had a buddy cut it down to the correct size to fit the Buick. Gonna install it before the car comes out of winter hibernation. Since I don't run my car at the track....I think it will be just about perfect .

The 180 t-stat puts much less of a load on the cooling system, fans, electrical system, etc. as well.