rough idle after rebuild

SFITurbo

Just finished engine freshen up (std rings,bearings,gaskets,timing chain,etc.,). All measurements within specs, everything by the book. I now have a rough idle and seems to be somewhat rich. Unfortunatly, I have only the usual shade tree tools available. Pulling 16# of vacuum at idle and no check engine light. I'm fairly certain the cam sensor is off so I'm starting from scratch in the morning. Any basic ideas to point me in the right direction would be greatly appriciated.

OK,
Set cam sensor, same situation. Idles like a pro stock, but smooths out off idle(1800 rpm).Changed back to stock chip,no difference. Starting to get frustrated.(like thats something new)Any ideas? Anyone...Anyone...?

don't get frustrated yet, i've been chasing a problem with mine for 3 years.

Anyway how did you adjust your cam sensor, what procedure did you use?

Did you check your crank sensor? also make sure that your IAC and TPS are hooked up and adjusted correctly. check your O2 sensor and make sure the injectors are connected in the right order. Is the chip match to the injectors?

How does it drive otherwise?

Cam sensor drop in at TDC with window to driver side,the adjusted voltage to 7.08 then ccc to 0 volts. I used the TPS enhancer/calibrater from my wifes GN to check mine- second green light as called for. Crank sensor was installed to go through the first groove with equal spacing between the sensor and crank. IAC ? no clue to what it's doing. Tried the stock chip but went back to the on that was in the car when i got it, no differece either way. Fuel rail wasn't messed with except for new o rings.Car ran like a raped ape prior to tear down,had a huge cloud of white smoke one day(driving sane) and barely made it home. Fixed itself after I cooled off but pulled it out anyway. Never did find evidence of a blown head gasket. Can't road test yet due to drive shaft and brake line (MAJOR rust underneath).Am I missing something obvious?