Newbie questions...

DrCAS

Okay, i am a newbie when it comes to Buick turbo motors. Please be nice and keep the humiliating kicks to the crotch to a bare minimum...

I have always admired the power outputs they have and love the look of a turbocharged engine. I have a 231 oddfire engine in my Astre Panel hooked up to a TH350. My plan is to install the turbo motor with a T-5 tranny utilizing a Monza flywheel and a Haywood scattershield to adapt the Ford tranny to motor.

So, I bought a 1985 turbo motor for 50 bucks from a member of another site I hang out on. I know that this is a hot air motor. I bought the engine mostly complete including the ECU and wiring harness. I am really thinking hard about moving up to the newer intercooler type system. Is it really worth the effort?

I have a lot questions... Let's start with some basic ones first.

Since my fuel pump is now in the gas tank, should I keep the original pump and run a second pump to boost the fuel pressure up to what is going to be needed for the SFI or should I adapt a new in tank unit instead?

Should I mount the ECU inside the car or can it be mounted in the engine compartment?

If I go with an intercooler, will the turbo I have be adequate?

Okay, those are the ones I have right now. I know I will have a boatload more in the future.

My project car is a 1973 Pontiac Astre Panel Express. I am in the process of putting an S-10 rearend in it now and swapping out the front suspension with tubular A-arms and S-10 spindles. Once i pull the engine out, I am going to swap in a new K member that is set up for a power rack and pinion instead of the bulky leaking unit I have right now.

I am impressed with the level of knowledge I have seen here so far. I know I came to the right place.

Thanks!

I am really thinking hard about moving up to the newer intercooler type system. Is it really worth the effort?

Yes it is worth the effort.