Make your own Wastegate????

whiplash306

I'm new to all this guys....my '04 STi has an internal wastegate that if I had to replicate, I'd be in big trouble. My '86 GN is basically stock with the exception of Hooker headers, ram air and a KB chip(don't know how old or what series). I've read where people suggest an adjustable wastegate...possibly even making one yourself...HOW??? They suggest also the Walbro fuel pump...what size?...and this "scan tool"...what is this and where can I get it/learn about it???? I'm so new a this and need a little guidance. Probably most important to me right now though is, how do I make the car stop rattlin' this piss outa me at every bump, pot hole, etc.....any aftermarket suspension secrets that I need to know? Car is gorgeous and runs like a dream, but I need help in every other aspect...... http://www.imprezawrxsti.com/postnuke/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&t=10223

Check out the rest of that site is well, there's a ton to learn there. Make sure you do the spring cleaning, it's important to get your car running well and tuned before you start trying to make it fast. Also read and search through this and the other boards. Your questions have all been answered before, but I'll answer them again, as that's what wer're here for. :)

The fuel pump most guys use (until they get really fast) is a Walbro 340 with a "hotwire" kit to make sure it gets the full voltage it needs. The stock pump wasn't good enough stock and surely won't be after modding or the effects of time. Replace it.