Maf

87gnNV

Ive heard of people removing the second screen how is this done and is it really worth it?
thanks

U can remove it if u want. There are two screens inside and as long as u don't remove the second one u should be ok.
There is a slim plastic ring on the outside of the screens. Just take alittle screwdriver or a pair of pliers and pull it out towards u and the first screen should come out.:)

ok

ok the first one is the one closest to the air filter right?
should i even do it? what kind of gains do you get?ive also heard of removing the screen on the ic is that safe? what kind of gains would i get? thanks can u tell im new to this.:D

Re: ok

Originally posted by 87gnNV
ok the first one is the one closest to the air filter right?
should i even do it? what kind of gains do you get?ive also heard of removing the screen on the ic is that safe? what kind of gains would i get? thanks can u tell im new to this.:D

You have the last remaining intercooler screen still on a car. It's purpose was to keep new england leaves out of the IC. You won't have that problem in Nevada, I bet, so there are no downsides in removing it.

If its a stock delco MAF, I'd just leave it alone. They are discontinued and are worth more untouched. There is a gain from removing one screen, but its smaller than the gain from adding a Cone K&N filter or porting you turbo elbow or many other cheap mods.

Do not remove the first screen between the MAF and the filter. My car would not idle when I forgot to put it back in. The back screen really does nothing and I would remove that. I am switching to an LT1 MAF this weekend and I cant believe the difference in the two designs. The stocker looks quite restrictive.

Originally posted by blackbuick87