If you care about having a flawless finish, check this out

Vampire

Up all night
Hey guys,

I wanted to share some results of the work I've been doing to the finish on the GN. I'm restoring the 24 year-old paint job to as close as I can get it to new, and trying out some new products and tools to get the job done, so I'm gonna post progress on this thread to hopefully help others out.

I AM NOT A PROFESSIONAL DETAILER. I'm like most of you, just been washing/waxing for years in search of the perfect products and finish. Hopefully this will help any other DIY-ers - if I can do this, you can too, because I'm starting completely from scratch here.

So...I'm working with a decent foundation because the car was garaged and not neglected, and it doesn't suffer from many of the problems that GNs do, like flaking clearcoat, checking, fading etc. However, there are pretty obvious hard water spots on the entire car, and a lot of surface scratches/swirling that really show the car's age. First step is to get rid of these.

After washing the car with Dawn dishwashing detergent to remove all traces of old wax and claying the entire surface, I started with an excellent product that I've used before with great results, Zaino ZPC Swirl Remover. A few years ago I did my 2007 GMC Pickup (black) from bumper to bumper after a couple years of crappy car-wash washes covered the truck in swirls. After I was done, the paint was FLAWLESS. The GN's paint is a lot older and has water spots whereas the GMC did not.

Here is a link to the product website for more info. I've used Zaino for over 10 years and swear by their products. They aren't cheap but they are WELL worth the money!
Z-PC Fusion Dual Action Paint Cleaner Swirl Remover: Zaino Store

Here is a BEFORE/AFTER side-by-side shot of one pass with this product BY HAND
SAM_0016.jpg

And another...you can see a slight amount of hologramming in this one (more on that later)
SAM_0017.jpg