I don't own a Buick car.

currentresident

old-tyme wrench turner
and probably won't for a while. I'm a truck mechanic who takes care of 9 wreckers. The guy who runs the warehouse where I work called me the other day and said he had something I would be interested in. They were cleaning out the warehouse of engines that hadn't sold and he showed me something covered in dust off the top shelf that looked like Buick blue. Sure enough it is a 1979 3.8 with a turbo and complete with a quadrajet. 11 years ago it was ran and showed 35lbs oil pressure at idle and 150 to 159 compression. I bought it for 75 buck to save it from the scrap iron box. It is still free and I thought it would make a novel engine to put in my 1967 Checker Marathon which is finally coming together after getting the frame sawed off at the firewall and a 1972 Buick Riviera front frame section welded on. It mostly all there except for the EGR valve, It looks like it had some kind of small manifold between the intake and the manifold below the carb. I have no idea what it looked like. Should I just cap it off and run without it?

Anyway, hello all and if this is anything like the Checker forum, the Geo forum, or the 67-72 pickup forum, then it's going to be fun.

Welcome to the board.
I think what you are missing is the turbo.
If im not mistaken i saw two on the parts for sale section.

Welcome aboard!:biggrin:

Please come to the B4black section and do a little reading. The scarry part is that the draw through system is a throw back from the early 60's and revised in 76 for Pikes Peak racing. In 78 it was brought back and ran until 83. After that the SFI systems took over and we were thrown on the shelf mostly. One of the best sites for info is BEFORE BLACK Website. Rich George owns it and has a great deal of info about the cars as well as the different systems fro 78 to 83.