How to turn up the boost???????

AlvinB24

I just bought my first TR, an 87 t-type, and im wanna start modding it!!
Its totally stock right now, i noticed just driving it around a little that it only goes to 11-12psi max. How do i turn up the boost on a stock setup? and what is the safe limit for how much boost i can give it?
Im new to all this TR stuff so thanks for the help!!

Hey! I'm also new to TR's, but when I first got into them I asked the same exact question. Alright...their is a gold wastegate at the bottom of the turbo that has a rod comeing out of it where it is stuck on the turbine houseing. To turn up the boost Take it off the little peg on the housing...screw the rod IN so it gets shorter...then pull the rod back on the peg. You should be able to run 15-16psi safely. Start off with little turns...and it is better to tune it at night when it is cool and you can test the boost out. Also do you have any kind of knock scan device? Have fun with your TR and take care of it! Peace.

Well, the above is only true if there is an adjustable wastegate already installed, they were not adjustable stock. Must first get an adjustable one or make one by cutting a section out of the rod and threading the ends and get a $3 bolt from Home Depot.
Now before you do any WOT blasts of any kind, you need to make sure the fuel system is up to par. If it has the original fuel pump, it ain't ready for any kind of boost. An 18 year old pump isn't going to keep up and the sock is probably clogged up. So first order of business is get a Walbro 340 and a hotwire kit and new filter...then as mentioned..a scan tool of some kind and minimally a manual boost guage cause the stocker is very inaccurrate. If no scan tool that you can watch the road at the same time, then get a knock gauge also...put the boost and knock gauge in an A-pillar mount.
Then you are ready to safely start the modding and upping the boost a little watching for any signs of knock.