Gun cleaning

daverr

Im new to gun cleaning. I had a friend of mine show me how to clean handguns. We used CLP and Butchs Bore Shine with patches , a bore brush,cloth and a regular brush for cleaning. To lube the slides and any other metal to metal contact we used white lithium grease. A couple questions I have is would just using CLP be enough to skip greasing since it is a cleaner and lubricant and what is everyone method of cleaning firearms???

i use plain old simple green mix it in spray bottle couple of cap fulls then the rest water, been using it for years works great. then oil hops # 9.

Hey there.... Get you some FROGLUBE. I have spent over 16yr in the Army and FROGLUBE. Is by far one of the best lubs out there. All you have to do is clean gun with alcohol, for best results, them heat up gun with blow dryer or heat gun and apply FROGLUBE. You can fire 100's of rounds off and wipe down the fun and it will be virtually clean. The more you apply, the better you will be.

Sent from my iPhone using Turbo Buick

I use Tetra products... Ballistol is great as well!

I started using Ballistol after hearing about it from Hickok45 on Youtube and several others on the net and I must say it works great. It's safe for wood grips and it won't hurt polymer either. Only problem is you can't find it at any of the local spots so you have to order it online. I got mine from Midway.

I also use Mil-comm TW-25B grease for the slide rails and it's really good stuff as well.

For lubing a slide I like slick50 1lube. After everything is clean and apart spray it down and let it sit. It will gel up and then you wipe it off leaving a teflon coating on the parts. My M1 clanked when cycling by hand and afterwards it barely made any noise.