Does this sound like a header problem?

bq93

My car is down waiting on a new accumulator I ordered, but in the meantime I think I may have cracked a header or blown a gasket. I’m still a complete newb with this car so I was hoping for a little diagnostic help.

I’ve read the threads about problems with the headers, but I really didn’t see anything that would help me diagnose the problem beyond what I have already tried.

My brother came over yesterday and I was showing him the car. I noticed that immediately on startup, and on the downside of the rpms if I rev the car, I get a pretty low knocking. It isn't a tick, but rather a fairly loud knock that seems to be coming from the bottom area of the engine. It also isn’t constant, and only shows up if I rev the car, so I don't think it's a motor problem. It is a little discouraging to be a neophyte and have no real clue about how to diagnose the car.

Can someone give me an idea as to how I might be able to verify the problem? I really don’t have a clue.

Leaky headers sounded like a brappy whistle to me, and mine was constant, but obviously louder when revved.

1/2" rubber tube to ear, car running, search every nook and cranny where pipe meets pipe, pipe meets head, etc. Have someone lightly rev the motor while diagnosing.

If you have a leak, it will be quite clear.

Hopefully you're lucky on this one...my buddy a while back had a la sabre with a knocking noise only on revving...it was the bottom end...bad rod bearing, chewed the crank up nicely... Try to get under the car and do the tube or screwdriver to ear test on the oil pan. If its loud I would pull the pan just to be safe.

crap...

I’m going to look at it again tonight. If I can’t find the problem it is going to the shop. I’m not screwing around with this.

and crap again.