design/engineering

iamjeff

next gen buick enthusiast
Just wanting to hear the viewes of someone who has been in the industry for longer than i have (which anything more then about 2 months)... I am currently a student at Texas A&M and am about to start my third year. I am attempting to get my Bachelors in Mechanical Engineering, and I recently got hired by a oilfield service company as a machinery designer producing drawings with austocad and solidworks. I am considering getting an associates in mechanical design, instead of getting my BSME. Would ya'll say that this is a poor decision? Is design a bad carreer decision? Any helpfull opinions would be appreciated.

-Jeff

If you have a knack for drawing/designing and that is what you want to do 9 hours a day, go for the associates. I've found that the sooner you get a job and make money, the more money you will make.

After you get your first job, where you went to school or what degree you have doesn't matter too much.

Some large companies offer education assistance so if you want a bachelors they'll not only pay for it, but give you stock when you graduate. The internet has made it possible to get a degree anywhere.

Oilfield service companies follow a pretty predictable cycle. Contrary to popular belief, oil won't be $70/bbl forever, so make sure you keep your options open or your skills honed, because the new guys or the least skilled are the first to go in the eventual layoff. And it WILL happen. It is ONLY a matter of time.

A design/drafting job is only a bad job if you don't like doing it.

UNGN said:
.........A design/drafting job is only a bad job if you don't like doing it.

Agree. There are many more opportunities with more $ in medical fields, but, YOU need to get into a field you will enjoy. Do not get into a field just for $$$ cause you may not last and waste your edumacation. :eek:
Discuss this with your advisor and than seek some real world advice.