GM restoration certified items, snake oil?? or not!!!

Toby_Goodmk

Test Fit officianto
I saw this picture recently which I will let the distributor of the product remain nameless as this topic of conversation is not to mean harm, but converse what MFG restoration truly means and if it is "snake oil marketing ploy" or truly a better product. Marketing a product through means of perception is a free market right, but I am curious as to what others in the community think about it. I have 15 years of experience in producing and test marketing and engineering as well as reverse engineering products. This has resulted in over 50 million dollars in tooling for the restoration community. I have never had to result with my experiences with using the restoration certification as a way of making and selling products. It is something curious to me as to if a label surely helps the consumer feel they are getting a better product or not.

Please open conversation!!

Attachments

• Untitled2.jpg
    Untitled2.jpg
    702.4 KB · Views: 224
It would have been a perfect world if the parts list had been split between MFGs instead of multiple suppliers for one part and none for others.

When I look in a parts catalog and see three grades of the same part I'm reasonably sure some of those parts are not as good as the originals.

PER GM: Our restoration parts are designed by licensed manufacturers to meet GM specs and labeled to keep your classic car or truck as true-to-original as possible.

I would expect that label to guarantee that the part is least as good as the original. In some cases another mfg's part may actually be superior to the original.
I don't know how one proves that except thu word of mouth?

I paid a ton of money to replace the exhaust with original parts the first time. I used aftermarket the second time.
I could not afford the original gas tank and settled for aftermarket. I keep it full always :)
Its about choices....