Couple questions

Shack Bauer

Top Guy
Here is the problem...
The heat in my 86 GN does not work.
I am new to turbo regals so I have been soaking up as much knowledge on these cars as possible. I was told that I had an after market control valve and that that was most likely the problem.
So I installed a new stock control valve. This did nothing, I looked around a little harder and found a vacuum line had gotten disconected over on the drivers side against the firewall. When I reattached the line the valve on the controller opened and it fealt like the heat started working for a very short time. Soooo back under the hood I go..... I start following vacuum lines all over and most of them feel like crap! Very brittle, some are cracking and some feel like a sponge. I followed one all the way up to the drivers side head light area only to find that it went to nothing and a screw had been jammed into the end to block it off. This must have been dome some time ago because the screw is deteriorated to rust.
Could this be a reason for the heater issue?
How difficult is it to change out the vaccum lines in the car?
Are there filters for the vacuum lines?
Can anyone tell me what the line going up to the headlight might have been for?
Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks
wade

Does it have the digital one touch climate control inside or does it have the slide bar for the hot and cold? Look behind the glove compartment and make sure the control is opening and closing the door flapper.

The one by the headlight probably used to go to the charcoal cannister right by the headlight if your car still has one. Is the vacuum line on the heater control valve hooked up. What thermostat are you running, what about the heater core. Check vacuum lines by firewall. Can you hear the door shut in the car when you have the selector on hot and turn the heat on?