car runs hot after tranny rebuild

gngeorge

My 87 T runs hot after my trans was rebuilt,runs 190 to 200 degrees on the highway,a little cooler around town.before the trans was rebuilt it ran 160 to 170 on the hottest summer day.I also have a trans cooler. what do you guys think? thanx in advance.

when cruising on the highway and I tap the brake the rpm's go up briefly, I was told that is how you can tell if the lockup is working, is this correct,if it is correct then the lockup is working.thanx

The day I picked up the car it ran hotter.the car never ran over 170, except when I ran WOT,then the temp would rise temporarily and drop back down.

yes engine temp,and yes the fan is working.as far as head gasket,it doesn't blow smoke and there is no coolant in the oil.

Still using the stock radiator? I'm no expert, but i'd assume with an upgraded tranny you'd need upgraded cooling for it as well, like an external cooler?

George as me being the person who built the transmission Id say its hard to pin point why a rebuild would cause it to run hotter , if in fact the 2 are even remotely related.We know the lock up is working and the trans shifts firm and fast and there is no slippage at all.I held the upper and lower radiator hoses with the car running and there is definately a temperature difference between the hot coolant entering the radiator and the coolant exiting.There is a front mount intercooler on the car which always is an obstacle in the way of incoming air to compliment the heat exchange accomplished at the radiator.I suggest replacing the ,coolant temperature switch that grounds the fan relay and the thermostat as the beginning steps in diagnosing the problem as well as checking the connections at the fan relays and maybe replacing them as well if there is any melted plastic or signs of loose connections at the contact points.Using oem quality parts this should cost you less than 100 dollars andyou can do it in a half hour or less with the engine cooled off.