ALKY saves motor

1owner

I was at the BOP in Reynolds the other weekend tuning my new SMC kit [50/50 mix] for the first time. I added 10 gals of 100 octane unleaded [still had 3 gals. of 93] before I started playing. I was using my Red's 93 street chip, w/ no tcc lock up.
I made my first two passes at 18# of boost w/ 0 KR. My O2 numbers on the T-Link were real odd; going very very low, jumping around, not steady like it usually shows. Since I saw 0 KR i thought the O2 sensor was going bad. Only thing bad was me.:(
I had forgotten to reattach the vac/boost line to the fuel pressure regulator after setting initial fuel pressure. I made those first two passes at only 46# of fuel pressure.:mad: Seeing this, I was scared I had hurt the motor. After consulting with fellow club member Chuck Leeper [an old geezer with much more experience than me:D ] I pulled all the plugs and checked them, they were installed fresh the night before. I found no speckled shiny bits on them, but they did look like they got a little hot.
Alky saved the day. There might be damage internally but without a teardown I really don't know.
I did make two more passes with the vac/boost line attached. I gained 4 mph with no other changes [guess I was running kinda lean].
I met Razor for the first time at BOP. He's a stand up guy with great insight on alky. He has some interesting ideas and info. He told/showed me some things which has made me disappointed in my new SMC kit. This was the first tankful of alky run thru the kit and the pump has started to rust, not very quality in my book.
Considering I ran 12.5 @110 on 18# boost w/ a street chip I know alky is the way to go on the street. With some more tuning 11's should be possible!

Istvan
'86 GNAT orig. owner
'87 Regal "T" w/ turbo daily driver