4.1L engine

Rigo's 87 GN

just wondering what people think of this? im new to this whole GN world so im berly trying to learn lil by lil. Someone told me i can take a 4.1 cadillac block and use it on the gn. my questions are can i used the same GN top end. would i need a custom girdle for that block. What are the major difference between the two other than bore x stroke. Can people tell the difference just by looking? Can i run a GN roller cam on that block?

Charlief1 some of your info posted above is incorrect.......
1980-1982 the 4.1 Cadillac was a Buick v6...I have one I'm currently building
1983 & 1984 the 4.1 Cadillac was a v8 totally different block and not useable in a buick turbo app. (the one you mentioned)

Here's some pics of the 4.1 Caddy block

Note...The 4.1 Buick v6 used (80-82) in the caddy is one of the better casted 4.1 Buicks (0044 casting). Look at how there is more meat it the deck area compared to the 291 and 484 casting 4.1 Buicks. I've had all 3 Buick 4.1 blocks sitting side by side once to compare the deck area.

Attachments

• casting 1.jpg
    casting 1.jpg
    35.8 KB · Views: 536
  • pic 3.jpg
    pic 3.jpg
    20 KB · Views: 487
  • pic 4.jpg
    pic 4.jpg
    22.8 KB · Views: 499
  • pic 2.jpg
    pic 2.jpg
    19.2 KB · Views: 480