13.4 @ 101.... Mph Slow?

TONYP

I went to the track wednesday with my new regal and ran a 13.416 @101.26. 60' was 1.816. 1/8 was 8.459 @77.43. 101 seems a little slow for a 13.4. what do you guys think? I think the car should have more in it also. Any thoughts? I ran in Denver. I can't complain much since I only paid $3,000 for the car. I sold my last one for $4,700 and it was stock and not nearly as nice as this one. Car was popping and loosing power on top end on nearly every run. Any ideas on that?

Thanks

my 87 gn ran a 13.42@101.95mph. so either thats an ok
speed or both of our cars have problems. my 60' was 1.93
and 1/8 mi was 8.597@80.41mph. best time so far is 13.28
@102mph. problem is my car won't launch hard cause the
tires will spin at the line.

Tony, Get a scan tool and you'll be able to find out if it was knocking on the top end and that's why the mph was a little slow.(if that is slow?) I'm not an expert but maybe bad wires caused popping? Try the spring cleaning at gnttype.org. hope this helps.

What boost level? at 15psi that is a good mph. at 22psi with a TE44 it sucks.
HOWEVER for 5000 feet it might not be that bad. Talk to Mile Hi GN, he runs Denver all the time.

I ran 106 at 500' with stock stuff if that means anything

Naw, your mph is right on for those times.do the spring cleaning, change plugs, use the 42's if your going to run over 20psi of boost, and gap them between 032 and 035, get a xcan tool. your combo can see 11's when tuned in , (w/ traction)

The average TR (from 13.50 to sub-8's) runs et=1356/mph, +/- about .2 sec or 2 mph if you turn it around. Your 13.416 gives 101.07 mph so you are right on the average. Popping is usually lean but can be from rich. Get a scan tool, turn the boost down some and start working your way back up while you watch the O2 volts and knock retard.

maybe you didn't notice he is running at 5,000 ft......quite a difference

Does it have an aftermarket fuel pump? If not make that the first thing you do.