What tools do I need?

Vampire

Up all night
I just had an 87 Grand National delivered to me after a long search for the perfect car. I couldn't be happier with it...its a SUPER clean car with under 40k on the clock, and a fresh street/strip engine build only about 2000 mi ago that hauls ass!

Luckily I'm starting out with these cars with a clean and fully functional car that doesn't need any work (yet...), but I know these cars are a unique animal...like another member said, "if you're gonna have one of these cars you have to know how to wrench on them, or have a fat wallet, or both". :biggrin:

That said, what tools and supplies do I need to have in my garage to work on this car? I plan on doing my own maintenance etc. and learning as I go, starting out with the basics. I plan on keeping this car a long time and I want to be an expert on it...eventually :)

For now consider me a total newb...some car knowledge, NO tools. What should I have guys?

(SIDE NOTE: I already have an unexpected project I'll be getting to today. A lifter is stuck, which I was told is an easy fix by the builder, but I need to pop the valve covers off. Any guidance on what I'll need and how to not screw this up would be much appreciated also)

BTW I've been on multiple forums for cars I've had over the years, but this is by far the best, great members & info here...so far its the best thing about owning this car besides stepping on the accelerator. :cool: So thanks in advance!

Honestly, I'd get a good mechanics tool set first, like a Craftsman set from Sears. You don't have to spend a lot being a shadetree mechanic. I started with that and added things here and there as I needed them. I wouldn't recommend just going to a tool store with an open mind and a blank check. :) Get good quality stuff on items you will use often, like the mechanics tool set. If I need other things I won't use a lot but really need on certain jobs, I get them from Harbor Freight.