Worn crankshaft @thrust surface

R

RDavis

The Crankshaft is trash. Worn from thrust of torque converter. Bruce or someone can you tell me a fix?
I will pull pressures when I get the engine back in.
Any suggestions?

well.....................

Not to be negative but I would look for another problem . Do converters balloon? Well, yes , but at a rate 7/8ths smaller than what is talked about. I have been racing and building trannys for over 20 years and I have only seen 4 that I can document as "ballooned" ( and they were sitting on the brake at 6500 rpm with a 700 hp motor. Driver screw up. ) . This is a term that one guy has happen to him, and they all think it happened to them. Yes it does occur but at a rate of 1000 to 1. Not as common as some people lead you to believe.
Look elsewhere for a problem. Did converter stall extremely high? Was performance effected before you had the motor problem?
If you do see a converter ballooned, 9.5 times out of 10 it is a cheap no name brand converter with crap parts. Converter ballooning is one of the most common engine builder excuses there is. They need to blame any other reason than , the motor itself. It is very easy to point the finger..............

Heheh...Whoops...okay, here comes the hearsay part of my answer...ballooned converter is what I've always heard was the most likely cause of wasted thrust bearings...I guess also it would depend on who machined the block or crank, or if the thrust clearances were out of tolerance and such...

But I will say, I would probably not put that torque converter back in with the new motor...But that's just me ;) :p :D

I will now just sit back and soak up every little slice of knowledge that you would post here Bruce....You da man!!! :cool:

ballooned converters are not the only

thing related to the transmission that will kill a thrust bearing.