Under boost, loud pop!

HRobertson1

I have finally got my car back on the road with the help of Scott Atkinson. I snapped my stock crank in half last December and its been a whirlwind of parts and money since then. When I broke the crank it was under boost, between 10-15 pounds, and I heard a loud pop, the engine looses power for a sec, I let off the gas, and it just picks right back up. I was hoping since almost everything in the engine bay is new now, that issue would have dissappeared, but no. I took it out for its maiden journey around midnight last night, gave it about half throttle, and POP!, same thing again. I checked all of the IC hoses, all are still secure. Other than that one thing it seems to run awesome. I have a powerlogger I still need to install, but I have the scanmaster on and running, nothing looked funky. Is there anything that comes to mind that would cause that?

I am not an expert yet but I am sure everyone will ask you the running conditions first, Engine temp, Air temp, how much Alky, fuel pressure check, AFR and O2 volts etc?

I had a Pop recently through the intake, the engine was cold and the air at 75 deg. I believe the alky at low temp was my problem. I have not had the problem since I made sure the car was fully warmed up.

Maybe sounds like bad ignition coil,wires. Wrong spark plug wire on wrong plug. Check the basics.

I will try to install the powerlogger tonight to get some numbers. Everything on/in the engine is new except the coil and crank sensor

Some suggestions, maybe raw fuel or alchy getting into the exh. system, by a leaky inj. or siphoning of alchy. Loose reluctor ring, crank sensor, etc.

I had the same problem. It was my M.A.F. At least that what it sounds like. If you have a friend close that you could borrow M.a.f. Fixed my problem.