shutdown area procedure??

JimG

what is the preferred procedure after you have crossed the traps?
braking and D?
braking and OD?
braking and neutral?
Many thanks
Jim

I am by no means a pro, but I leave it in D and brake. I think neutral would be very careless. OD would not help slow down either. I leave my TC locked until I make the turn to come back.

My shutdown area procedure.

After going through the traps, I leave the car in drive and slowly apply the brake. About this time I'm lowering my window to get some cool air in the car. As soon as I've cleared the track, I drive to the time slip shack to have them remove my wrist band and give me a lecture on why ten second cars should have rollbars and other cool stuff. About this time, I can hear the cold beer that I have stashed back in the pits calling my name.

At this point I consider myself "shut down".:eek::D

Happy spooling.

Mike Barnard

I'm with Mike. But the alternative plan if you are in the 11.50 crowd plus, get by the boards in time shots and coast/brake to the offiicial. If it's eliminations, don't let up until you think you can safely get by the official.:biggrin::biggrin:

DO NOT PUT IT IN NEUTRAL after trap. Trans will try and sling it self apart inside.

IMO shift to OD and brake. This is the easiest on the drivetrain.

i have done it 2 ways.

one leave it in D and brake.

two let the rpms come down some in D, press the accelerator some and go to OD then brake. now with a faster car it seems to be choice 1.

NEVER NEVER GO TO N. As posted above it can blow your trans real quick. and at that speed taking the trans out is bad real bad