Should I feel guilty for modifying a mostly stock turbo regal?

regalman4925

I have been building g bodies for almost 25 years, mainly regals but I have a 86 442 and have had a couple of other cutlasses. I have been collecting parts and putting together a turbo clone up until recently, the woman finally convinced me to pull the trigger on a turbo Buick so that I can enjoy a car instead of spending all of my time rebuilding one from the bottom up. So this weekend if all goes as planned, I will be purchasing my first Turbo regal. This brings about a new dilemma in my head, upgrades such as the new style Dakota digital dash that I was going to do to my clone are now sounding like not such a great idea wanting to maintain the car as stock as possible with the values going up every year. It seems like the unmolested cars sell for more and I honestly intentionally seeked out a car that I felt only had only tasteful bolt on upgrades that could be reversed back to stock if needed. I was also planning to upgrade the suspension a bit, that seems ok to me because it’s easy to bolt the stock parts back on. But things like tampering with the original digital dash for a aftermarket worries me. Am I over thinking this or am I for once realizing that these classics are worth more without the modifications? Thanks

I think the correct answer is, yes. lol. I plan to enjoy the car but one of the reasons that I went this route is I knew that the car will maintain value vs me dropping 20k into a regular regal and I could maybe get 12k if I sold it.

Most of the common mods are reversible, i have the dakota digital dash and my thoughts were if needed i will take it out and put the factory back in but after actually doing the job it aint never coming out by me lol. If i go to sell it and the dash is a deal breaker for someone then its just not the car for them. I think the right mods done correctly can add value, just gotta find the right buyer.