repaint costs

lieu910

My buddy wants to have his GN stripped and repainted. What is a fair price for a show quality paint job?

repaint

I had my G.N. repainted about 4 years ago.Not a total strip, but they did strip all the top surfaces and did some dissasembly. At that time I paid almost $4000. It was a very good job and I have had many compliments from other people who do paint work. Don't go cheap and check on the progress regularly.

I restore cars for a living. Mostly muscle cars and more Morpars then anything. But it all costs the same. It all depends on how bad the car is to start with. If your stripping the car all the way down to bare metal. Its not cheap. For a job like that I would charge after stripping. A bare minumum of $4000 plus materials. Materials means everthing form sand paper to buffing materials. That would cost anywhere from $800 to $1500. This is all depending on how bad the car is after you uncover the metal. How much previous body work that needs to be redone and how much rust you find.

I generally charge by the hour. Most if not all restoration shops charge this way. If they don't they wont be in bussniss long. I charge $45 per hour. But depending on where your located it could be higher. If the shop charges lower then $35 hr. Be carful of the work they put out. Make shure you check progress regularly so they dont cut corners.

**** $5000-$10,000 around here depending upon how much body work needs to be done, and how you bring it to them. Since most places charge by the hour, anything you can do to make their lives easier in terms of removing trim, badges, etc.. will make it cheaper.