Rebuilding 84HA engine. Ideas??

Donniejr81

I'm getting ready to do a stock to mild rebuild on an low mileage 84GN engine for my Regal. I'll be keeping the stock bore/stroke, heads, and intake. I have a turbo from an 87GN and it looks a little larger than the 84 turbo, I'd like to use that one. Is all I have to do is "clock it". I'm looking for some ideas/input on how to rebuild this motor on a budget (I'm a college student), but give it a little more $hit in its britches at the same time. Cam? Exhaust? Air intake? I'm new to the turbo buick world, I jumped aboard from the Mopar and Corvette crowd. Thanks in advance.

hey man. nice to hear. welcome to the dark side. im pretty much in the same boat as you. im a college student completely redoing an 84 t-type WH1 packaged car. i had to have mine bored, but am using the heads and intake.

one way i found out i could put a little more hitch in my giddy up was im going to run an e85 mix. the stock turbo for the 84/85's will crank out 20 lbs of boost from what i've been told. the poston buick website is where i'll be getting my rebuild kit. i've asked around and they seem to be pretty reputable. jerryl, boost231, BRAD_PADGETT and Hot Air are the gentleman i go to for advice and they havent steered me wrong yet. good luck. Where about are u going to school at?

welcome. You said motor is a low mileage motor why the rebuild? As far as Cam stick with the stock unless there is something wrong with it then go with a 206/206. As far as exhaust i would check the vendors and see what you like. This is the exhaust system i like STAINLESS CATBACK EXHAUST right now since it looks like my current ATR system. As far as the Air intake system i would get it from the same company HOT AIR Big Mouth Cold Air Induction System Page best system by far. Get the full kit which will get the air filter out of the engine bay